I think I cooked my Black Cat

Aelred

Roadie
No, not a tale of anaimal cruelty but of unprecedented negligence towards my cherished amplifier.

I left in on over Easter in Standby. The Black Cat didn't hiss like this previously. I have never done this to an amp before, so naturally I did it to my favourite. :bonk

Maybe Warranty covers it, but I have doubts. I hope I can fix the thing though.

Last edited:
Sucks man.
How's it behave? Does it power on still? Maybe one of the fuses is blown...?

Sucks man.
How's it behave? Does it power on still? Maybe one of the fuses is blown...?
It powers on, and if I play I can swamp the static hiss. But as soon as I rest...

Hopefully it won;t cost too much or be too hard to fix. I'm just bummed I did it when I never have before and had to vent somewhere.

I still have a couple of working Orange Terrors, etc.

Thanks for the mojo everyone. I better call the store and arrange for the fix - the only real cure.

It powers on, and if I play I can swamp the static hiss. But as soon as I rest...

If everything on the amp WORKS and the only real issue is the noise then it's 99.9% a tube. Most likely pre-amp. Output tubes usually blow fuses or start having weird volume jumps and dips before you know they're bad.

Swap out the pre-amp tubes one at a time until the hiss is gone. Do you have a tube chart? One tube might be dedicated to the loop and if that's not part of the problem you can cross that tube initially off the list as being the bad one. 9 times out of 10 it's gonna be V1 or V2.

Good luck! Which Black Cat?

Which Black Cat?
Bad Cat Black Cat Player Series II 1x12 Combo 20w.

Not knowing how to fix amps, but vaguely knowing something about electricity, Capacitors and Australia having dealy voltage... I have no intention of touching it myself.

Bad Cat Black Cat Player Series II 1x12 Combo 20w.